Our area

Our Home, Our Downland, Our Coast = Our Biosphere

Our Biosphere brings together the three distinct but connected environments of urban, countryside and coastal areas as a whole. Centered on the chalk block of the South Downs between the River Adur in the west and the River Ouse to the east, our Biosphere covers approximately 390 Km2 – an area just larger than the nearby Isle of Wight.

It includes part of the South Downs National Park that surrounds and literally gives life to the city of Brighton & Hove and the towns of Lewes, Newhaven, Peacehaven, Shoreham, Southwick and Telscombe  – home to more than a third of a million people. It provides our water, local food, open space and natural inspiration.

The sea lies on our doorstep and similarly provides us with fresh food, a healthy atmosphere and international tourist magnet.

These natural assets combined with a strong cultural offer have helped to create a thriving visitor economy that forms a significant part of our local business.